Watch Dogs on PS4 runs at 60fps/1080p, COD Advanced Warfare gets Troy Baker and Sony’s E3 2014 press conference date announced – PlayStation news round up

Extra! Extra! Watch Dogs on PS4 to run at 60 frames at 1080p, says Sony. In other news that would make a downtrodden Victorian paperboy proud, COD Advanced Warfare has added Troy Baker to its cast, while we now know when Sony’s E3 press conference is going to be held.

PlayStation news round up

  • The PS4 version of Watch Dogs might have earned its fair share of interweb ire due to perceived graphical downgrades since the game’s initial 2012 E3 reveal, but that hasn’t stopped Sony from making some bold technical claims over at PlayStation.com. There, it claims Pearce’s peeping adventure runs at 1080p/60fps “in a way that only PS4 can provide”. Considering almost no title outside of FIFA 14 and Resogun (both of which are far less demanding games than Ubisoft Montreal’s ambitious surveillance sandbox) has hit that impressive golden standard yet, we’d be mightily impressed if Aiden can deliver those numbers.
  • Next up, COD Advanced Warfare‘s cast list has been revealed on IMDB. While the megaton Spacey-related news leaked over a week ago, the addition of Troy ‘Joel from The Last Of Us’ Baker is hot off the imaginary presses. Baker is voicing playable lead Private Mitchell. In more musical news, Harry Gregson Williams (acclaimed Hollywood composer who has also scored several Metal Gear games) is recording the soundtrack for the game. Your ears are no doubt in for an extra explodey, bombastic treat.
  • Finally, Sony has confirmed the date for its E3 2014 press conference. The presser will be held on Monday 9 June at 6pm PT (9pm ET / 2am BST on 10 June). The Last Guardian is definitely going to be there this time, right? RIGHT? C’mon, just look at Trico’s unbearable sad eyes, Sony. The poor bugger needs a home on our PS4s.