PS4 Share button use limited, devs can block, “parts of a game [they don't] want people to see”

Shuhei Yoshida has explained more about the PS4′s Share button’s ability to distribute video and screens socially with a single press. It will apparently be controlled by developers to prevent spoilers.

PS4 Share button use to be limited

Speaking in interview Yoshida said: “There will be parts of a game that the maker does not want people to be able to see. For example, on Vita, developers can in certain scenes disable the feature that lets users take a screenshot, and [the Share function] will have a similar mechanism. The creator may not want to make a video of the final boss sharable, for instance.”

Yoshida has also spoken about how the share system grew out of his own obsession with Dark Souls. “I wanted to play Dark Souls all day long, but I couldn’t do that because I was too busy” he explains. “So instead I would watch people playing it live on Niconico (a Japanese video site) whenever I had some spare time. By doing that, you can find other ways to play the game and read comments by other users. I felt that sharing videos is a really important part of enjoying games.”

Although that said, the eureka moment sounds like a bit of a no brainer: “We were trying to think of a way to make it easier for users to upload video, and one day a member of our in-house production team just said, ‘How about a Share button?’ We called out in unison, ‘That’s it!’”

Thanks VG247, Edge

sssss