PlayStation Network down for routine maintenance Friday 18th. UPDATE: EXTENDED

psn down

[Update the maintenance has been extended "estimated to end at 8pm PT tonight, maintenance has been extended to tomorrow AM".]

Both America and Australia have already announced a 12 hour stretch of PlayStation Network downtime. Now Sony UK have confirmed the times for the EU/UK stretch.

PlayStation Network downtime

Here’s the latest:

The downtime will start 16:00 GMT (17:00 CET) and end 04:00 GMT (05:00 CET) on Friday 18th January. The US Blog states the routine maintenance is, “to continue bringing you the best online games experience on PSN”. The blog also outlines what’s available during the 12 hours:

“The PlayStation Store and Account Management will not be available during the maintenance period, but you will be able to access online play and apps provided that you have signed into PlayStation Network at some point between now and the time of the maintenance. So please be sure to sign in now if you wish to access the Network during Thursday’s maintenance window.”

Thanks US Blog.